Nakashima Mika – ORION [27th Single]

November 9, 2008 at 5:03 pm (Nakashima Mika) (, )

Nakashima Mika’s 27th single, entitled ORION, was released on 11.12.08. While the title track was used as the insert song in the TBS dorama Ryusei no Kizuna (in which she had a small role), FOCUS was used as the Canon IXY Digital 920IS CM song.

A beautiful ballad, ORION, is the single’s A-side. Opening the song is the chorus and her emotional vocals perfectly compliment the simplicity of the music. She finishes off by singing “I believe” and it makes for a very nice transition into the gorgeous pure instrumental section. On the verses, the music continues to be a driving force and Mika’s vocals remain emotional while reeling in the power. The full pure instrumental section is wonderful as the guitar really comes in to give that song a certain edge that the listener can really aappreciate. ORION is a wonderful song that Mika brings to life by taking the emotions and putting them to the forefront.

FOCUS is a relaxing cool number with jazz influences. The song begins with a very pretty out-of-this-world instrumental that instantly catches the listener’s ear and then the first verse begins. Mika’s vocals sound great and have that deep smoothness about them that supports the music perfectly. The chorus is what stands out the most on this song as the jazz influences come out to play and Mika’s vocals show a little more strength but it makes all the difference. FOCUS is an absolutely addictive song and definitely one to listen as it shows just what Mika can do.

In order to promote the single, a PV for ORION was made. The video features Mika in various scenes with the dark atmosphere really connecting with the emotions of the song. Although it may not be the prettiest video, it gets the job done very well.

Single Ranking: A +

Both ORION and FOCUS are fantastic songs that really compliment each other as they both have a prettiness about them. ORION takes on the slower tempo and has more of an emotional quality while FOCUS has that fun atmosphere that the listener can fully enjoy, which makes this one fantastic single.

7 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    ok maybe it’s just me but I absolutely adore FOCUS big time unlike ORION so much . Lately Mika’s ballads have been very boring which’s quite unfortunate , they somehow lack the oomph factor goign on unlike her classics like Yuki no Hana

  2. amaiyume said,

    FOCUS is soooo friggin good. NO question my fav Mika song (ok I haven’t heard anything else besides ORION but I can see it being my fav for a long time).
    Hmmm, I really loved ORION and I can’t compare it to other ballads since I haven’t heard them but I guess we’ll see with VOICE 🙂

    I’m excited for FOCUS getting a PV!!!!!!!1

  3. Karen said,

    her past ballads that she has released have substance & are way better than ORION which was a total snoozefest & it took me a while to actually decide whether I like it or not

    frankly my hopes for VOICE are not really that high as this time round except for the B-sides , the A-sides didn’t fail to impress me so much other than Eien no Uta

  4. amaiyume said,

    well you know her better than I do and I gotta be honest in that I’m not having very high hopes for this album since I’m only really going on 1 single…

    haha, maybe I’ll check some of her older ballads out then! I really enjoyed ORION so maybe I’ll love them too 🙂

  5. Selryam said,

    A+, you say?

    Well, I’m not entirely familiar with Mika Nakashima and her works, but I’ve been wanting to try some more of them, so maybe I’ll try this single…

  6. Karen said,

    @ Selryam – if you want , try some of her older works that’re classics imo like FIND THE WAY , Yuki no Hana , Sakurairo Mau Koro .

    Her NANA works are fantastic too like GLAMOROUS SKY & Hitoiro

  7. amaiyume said,

    @Selryam: And if you don’t particularly wanna check out this single, then you’ve at least gotta try FOCUS since that’s just incredible. I think ORION is great too but FOCUS is the star of the single 🙂

Leave a Reply

