Kanjani∞ – 無責任ヒーロー [9th Single]

October 31, 2008 at 5:00 pm (Kanjani∞) (, )

Kanjani∞’s 9th single, entitled 無責任ヒーロー, was released on 10.29.08. The title track was used as the theme song for the TV show Egawa x Horio no SUPER Urugusu.

無責任ヒーロー is an upbeat track that serves as the single’s A-side. The chorus has that fun element to it and there’s almost a carnival like atmosphere that comes through the instrumentation to make it enjoyable. The verses are a little more laid back and the interest fades a little. Overall the song is nice but after a while, it gets a little annoying and lacking that fun energy it began with.

The first B-side available on the limited edition A of the single is ケムリ. Opening the song is a dark rock paved instrumental that sounds great from the first moment. Then the first verse comes in and the vocals carry that angst and risk that the music reflects, perfectly capturing the atmosphere of the music. The chorus stands out, particularly when they sing “get me out of here.” As always, the pure instrumental section sounds fantastic and there is an out-of-this-world element that makes it stay on the listener’s mind. This is a great B-side worth listening to.

∞ o clock ’08 is also only present on the limited edition A single. The beeping sound that starts the song off then persists over a very grand dark instrumental but once the chorus comes in, the atmosphere changes gears. There is a more dance feel that the listener can love. The boys sing with a certain rapidity on the verses but it doesn’t come off as slick as hoped. Unfortunately the song is too up and down to really be enjoyed all the way through but it definitely has its really fun moments.

Limited Edition B features fuka-fuka Love the Earth. There isn’t much to say as this track is pretty weak. Although the vocals are nice, the music is very un-engaging and doesn’t give the listener a moment to really fall into the song. It’s a pretty weak song with nothing that makes it stand out.

道標 is the B-side only present on the regular edition of the single. The song begins with a cute and natural midtempo instrumental that really gives off the feeling of a day by day routine. On the first verse, the vocals are smooth, keeping nicely with the cute and enjoyable feeling established by the music. The chorus leaves a little to be desired because there is no real music change and the vocals don’t show any more strength but it’s nothing that’s a turn-off. One thing about the song that might be though is that the song is pretty long, clocking in at around five minutes and it really should have been shortened. Nonetheless, it’s a nice song that the listener can get into while listening to.

In order to promote the single, a PV for 無責任ヒーロー was made. The video features the boys in an office just having fun, to match the fun-ness of the song. It’s not fantastic but it’s nice.

Single Ranking: B

Overall the single isn’t as strong as their previous single, Wahaha but it’s nice. Certain songs, such as the ones on Limited Edition A, are more enjoyable while the others are pretty forgettable.

6 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    haha Kevin . It’s the 1st time I listened to Kanjani8’s single in full inclusive of B-sides & I must say they impress me & coming from an ex anti fan of theirs it’s saying something .

    I really dig fuka-fuka Love the Earth & 道標 . I somewhat find the B-sides in the limited edition type A to be more towards the angsty side imo

  2. amaiyume said,

    really? fuka-fuka Love the Earth just did not connect with me and I thought 道標 was alright.
    lol I guess we had like the opposite tastes when it came to this single XD

    nonetheless, Wahaha was the better A-side for me and that wasn’t even that great…

    maybe I’ll grow to like them more in the future…

  3. Karen said,

    Wahaha was like wtf when I 1st heard it but I’m alright with it now . There’s just something about the B-sides in Musekinin Hero that I like

  4. amaiyume said,

    I think that I liked the ideas they were going for on the B-sides but somehow the execution didn’t work as well.
    I’m not really sure what their normal style is supposed to be so maybe it’s just their music that doesn’t connect with me or maybe it’s their voices. I suppose we’ll see.

    Wahaha had the benefit of being my 1st Kanjani8 song so I guess that’s why it stands out to me…maybe they just need time to grow on me.

    Plus nobody is hot (not that it really matters but stil…) XD

  5. Karen said,

    oh I listened to their past singles & some of them are really good although are silly at times .

    I really like Osaka Rainy Blues , I wish they will put out another slow no. like this one .

    Osaka Obachan ROCK is just plain lmao but Osaka Romanesque is NICE .

    Their so far only triple A side Sukiyanen, Osaka. / Oh! ENKA / Mugendai is great too with the last 2 being somewhat mellow mid tempo no.s

  6. amaiyume said,

    I guess I like something I can dance to so that’s what I’m looking for. And guys especially, I prefer the dance stuff than the slow numbers…but we’ll see I guess when they put out a next single.
    If they can do better than this…

Leave a Reply

