Arashi – truth / 風の向こうへ [23rd Single]

August 18, 2008 at 5:07 pm (Arashi) (, )

Arashi’s 23rd single, entitled truth / 風の向こうへ, was released on 08.20.08. truth was used as the theme song for the dorama Maou, 風の向こうへ was used as the NTV Beijing Olympics theme song, and スマイル was used as the song in a Tongari Corn CM.

truth is the first A-side, which features a dark sound. The song starts off with a dark piano instrumental before the first verse starts. The vocals sound nice and the English phrases do a nice job of standing out to the listener and help communicate that darkness well. The chorus doesn’t stand out as much as hoped although the vocals are nice. The pure instrumental section is a beautiful combination of the sweet sounds of the piano and the dark and mysterious sounds of the rock-filled instrumental. It really hooks the listener and leads back into the chorus. The song ends with more fantastic instrumentation, taking the song out on a smooth close. Overall the sound is what really captures the listener and although the vocals are nice, they could have been a little more alluring.

風の向こうへ, a happy and upbeat song, is the second A-side. The song begins with a nice upbeat instrumental and part of the chorus comes in. The vocals have a certain catchiness that moves perfectly with the music. For the first verse, the poppiness really sticks out as the song’s happy atmosphere comes through strongly and the listener can’t help but love it. The rap sequence is very nice although they should have definitely took out the other boys singing in the background while he raps because they do clash a little bit. Overall the song is nice and enjoyable number although the song does begin to get repetitive after a while.

Present on the regular edition of the single is スマイル. Opening the song is a sweet instrumentation that has a very sunny feeling. The first verse features some poppy vocals to go nicely with the music, nicely supporting the overall atmosphere of the song. There is even more catchiness on the chorus as the boys give more great vocals and the music remains interesting. Overall, this is a very strong song and should’ve taken the place of one of the A-sides.

In order to promote the single, two PVs were made: one for each A-side. The PV for truth features a dark atmosphere that matches the song perfectly. In a very pleasant surprise, the video consists of some great dancing from the boys and the whole color scheme really catches the viewer’s eye. Overall, it’s a great video and it’s very eye-catching. While the colors black and red made up the truth PV, white drives the PV for 風の向こうへ. The camera revolves around the five boys as they sing and there are also scenes of the sky intercut. This video is very sweet and simple and definitely worth checking out.

Single Ranking: B +

This single is definitely nice as a combination of the dark truth and the light 風の向こうへ. The B-side is very memorable and should’ve taken on the position as A-side. Overall though, it’s a good single and another quality release from these boys.

17 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    I miss your posts on AHS , Kevin 😦 . Come back soon could you ?

  2. amaiyume said,

    Hey Karen!
    Yeah, I’ve been pretty much off of AHS for the past couple weeks. I guess the atmosphere wasn’t as fun as it used to be, which sucks 😦

    But I might pop back in a while

  3. Karen said,

    yes please come back soon ! the NEWS thread is just not the same without you , seriously

  4. Raid said,

    I vaguely remember commenting on this single before….

    Oh. I mentioned on another blog:

    “To be completely honest?

    Kaze no Mukou E is a great song with a lousy PV. Truth is a soso song (the echoes near the chorus were just badly done) with a pretty impressive PV.

    Essentially, I think it’s a waste. xD”

    Yup, so that’s that. Not to mention the ugly clothes in the Kaze no Mukou E PV. D:

  5. amaiyume said,

    I actually kinda agree with you.
    Song Wise: Kaze no Mukou e > truth
    Video Wise: truth PV > Kaze no Mukou e PV

    Truthfully, their last two singles were MUCH better than this one. One Love + Step and Go really hooked me but this one was a little eh for me. Better luck next time boys 🙂

    @Karen: I miss the NEWS thread!! It was actually my favorite thread in the whole forum!

  6. Karen said,

    I was actually expecting a bit more for the Kaze no Mukou e PV as I really like the song . Was a bit disappointed at 1st but after that it grows on me .

    I think J Storm spent too much $ on the truth PV haha

    & the 1st part of the Kaze no Mukou e PV – MAJOR NOSEBLEED ON SAKURAI’s arms 😛

  7. amaiyume said,

    yeah, I like Kaze no Mukou e more as a song but the PV for truth was fantastic! I wasn’t actually expecting something so strong and definitely didn’t expect dancing so it was a nice surprise 🙂

    but I actually like the Kaze no Mukou e PV because it looks simple and sweet 🙂

  8. Karen said,

    techincally truth’s the 1st serious/angsty song that ARASHI has released in their 9th year music career ie. if you don’t count Jidai , PIKANCHI in the pic .

    They do have some serious songs in their albums but they didn’t get to release them which they SHOULD have long ago

    I can’t wait for my copies of the single to arrive at my house YAY

  9. amaiyume said,

    yup, I’m not much for angsty sounding music [the atmosphere of Ai Nante by NEWS, which I don’t listen to that often] and that’s why truth didn’t catch me as well.
    I want them to go back to that poppier sound and there hasn’t been those jazzy influences in their recent songs which makes me think they’re growing musically 🙂

  10. Karen said,

    LOL

    sometimes it’s good to have some angsty/moody songs at hand cos frankly I was getting a bit sick of their poppy/happy no.s so truth’s like HURRAH for me .

    They should have released Cry for you from their Time album , BIG time 😦

  11. amaiyume said,

    yeah, it does provide some variety for their music although I still prefer songs like Step and Go or One Love and hope it’s a road they’ll continue.
    It does make me wonder which direction they will go in next for though 🙂

  12. Karen said,

    that’s true & did I mention the 1st 2 day sales of the single has outsold the 1st week sales of Step and Go and One Love ? My god

  13. amaiyume said,

    wow…they’re just on a streak of good sales!!
    They certainly are taking out the competition nicely. I wonder if they’ll be the top selling JE group of the year :0

  14. Kaori said,

    DDD: B+?
    I know that that’s a good score, but seriously this is the best JE single of the year.
    I can’t believe you think that Step and Go or One Love were better – that’s just – unbelievable.

    The fact that you gave SUMMER TIME an A+ and this a B+ is even more unbelievable.

  15. amaiyume said,

    haha, this just wasn’t my single XD
    I think it’s nice but like Karen said, it just might be the whole atmosphere of truth that doesn’t connect with me.

    Truthfully, I can’t even remember with Kaze no Mukou e sounds like right now and truth just isn’t my type of song.
    I hope that Arashi does more One Love or Step and Go songs 🙂

    SUMMER TIME suits me more [although Baby! Be My Baby! wasnt anything spectacular] and has a more enjoyable atmosphere for me.

    People keep saying that this single is so amazing and all of that but sad to say I definitely don’t see it 😦
    That’s okay though, to each their own 🙂

  16. Karen said,

    see this’s why I never like to give rankings at the end of whichever song/single/album review I do at my music blog cos such things will bound to happen .

    Kevin maybe you should consider to do away with the whole ranking system for both your music blogs ?

  17. amaiyume said,

    hmm, I think that people are bound to disagree with me with a lot of the rankings I guve and I guess giving a grade can be somewhat arbitrary but I actually like the grading system in that I can go back at the end of the year and it’ll help me remember my impression of the song when I do the 2008 Year Write-Up. It’ll come in handy when I post my favorite list of singles / albums 🙂

    This year in particular, people seem to really enjoy KAT-TUN and Arashi but NEWS takes it for me so probably having a release from them outrank one of the first two will make people go eh?

Leave a Reply

